Ramadan, in Three Parts

Ramadan means “excessiveness of heat.” It is a great and blessed month where Allah has made it compulsory for fasting. It is a month of patience and reward. It is a month of sympathy with one’s fellowmen. And a month where a believer’s faith is increased.

The month of Ramadan has three parts. These parts are called ashra (Arabic for ten) which means of ten days or about one third of the month.

The first ten days of Ramadan are days of mercy [Rahmat] ; the second period of ten days is for forgiveness [Maghfirat], and the final period of ten days (or nine days) is for seeking refuge from Hellfire [Nijat].

Print Friendly, PDF & Email